NFL MVP Past Winners

The NFL MVP race has consistently been won by the best Quarterback for that given year. Most recently given to Tom Brady for the third time. In the past 11 years only once has a player other than a Quarterback won the award, 2012 Adrian Peterson.

Patrick Mahomes

Having probably one of the greatest seasons in history, Patrick Mahomes and the Kansas City Chiefs are playoff bound for the fourth consecutive year. Throwing for 45 touchdowns and only 11 interceptions, all while leading the Chiefs to an 11-3 record. All three loses combined by a total of 7 points, but all three loses to New England, Los Angeles Rams and Los Angeles Chargers. Throwing for the most yards in Chiefs history for a season Mahomes looks to have a long career in Kansas City. I don’t know if he has done enough to win the MVP Award due to the fact that all three loses are against good team while his inflated stats are from bottom dweller teams.

Drew Brees

His 31-4 touchdown to interception rate is about the best in NFL History. His teams 11-2 record in tops in the NFC, and while on pace for one of his lowest yards passing it is still among tops in the game. The ageless Brees, has New Orleans fan believing again and if his defense can stay healthy, we know his arm will get the job done. I think Brees while having an excellent year and is worthy of winning the MVP Award, his 17 years in the league will help him receive some votes.

Aaron Donald

Winning the Defensive Player of the Year award in nice, but a what point do we start recognizing these game changers on defense. The last NFL MVP we had was in 1986, when Lawrence Taylor won. Aaron Donald is having a career type season with 16.5 sacks, 31solo tackles, and 4 forced fumbles. Teams are starting to have to plan around Donald thus making him a player to pick out. Quarterbacks are in the spotlight but in recent years, players like JJ Watt and Donald have been game changers. I think it is about time we start giving these defensive players some recognition.


All three candidates are worthy of this esteemed award, but I personally would like to see someone other than a Quarterback win it this year. Aaron Donald has established himself a perfect candidate and in my opinion the outright winner with Drew Brees a close second and Mahomes in third. I do think Mahomes will win a couple MVPs in the future but right now I think the best player in the league is Aaron Donald.

Benjamin Ringman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *